Charter Revision Commission

2020-2021 Charter Revision Commission

Section 11-2 of the Town Charter requires the Legislative Council to appoint a Charter Revision Commission no later than April of 2020 and “no more than every ten (10) years thereafter". The Hamden Charter was last approved and revised on November 8, 2011.

The 2020-2021 Charter Revision Commission will conduct periodic reviews to assess any modifications necessary to improve services to the people of Hamden via revisions to the Town Charter.

To view the current Town Charter, please click here or refer to the "Documents" section on this page.

MEMBERSHIP

Thomas Figler (R)Myron Hul (D)
Jeffrey Cohen (R)Sarah Gallagher (D)
Frank Ladore (R)Frank Dixon (I) 
Tiffany Artis-Wilson (D) Jay Kaye (R)
Jackie Downing (D)Joshua Sprague Oliveira (D)
Todd Moler (D)Todd Berton (R)
 Lamond Battle (D)Marnie Hebron (U)
 Nancy Olson (R)   

PUBLIC COMMENT

All public comment on the Charter Revision process may be submitted via email at crc2021@hamden.com.

SCHEDULE OF CHARTER REVISION COMMISSION MEETINGS 

Electronic Meetings Pursuant to Paragraph 1 of Executive Order 7Bi. THESE MEETINGS WILL BE 100% ELECTRONIC MEETINGS UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL CHAMBERS AT MEMORIAL TOWN HALL WILL BE CLOSED PURSUANT TO THE GOVERNOR’S EXECUTIVE ORDERS 7B and 7D.

To view upcoming meetings, agendas, recordings, and minutes of the 2021 Charter Revision Commission, please visit the Agenda Center or Calendar.

Public Hearing to be held: Tuesday, September 22, 2020 – 7:00 PM

Meeting dates *Subject to Change* :  

  • Wednesday, September 30, 2020
  • Wednesday, October 14, 2020
  • Wednesday, October 28, 2020
  • Tuesday, November 10, 2020 (Due to the 11th being a holiday) 
  • Wednesday, November 25, 2020 
  • Wednesday, December 9, 2020 
  • Wednesday, December 23, 2020 
  • Wednesday, January 6, 2021 
  • Wednesday, January 20, 2021 
  • Wednesday, February 3, 2021 
  • Wednesday, February 17, 2021 
  • Wednesday, March 3, 2021 
  • Tuesday, March 16, 2021 (Due to the 17th being a holiday) 
  • Wednesday, March 31, 2021 
  • Wednesday, April 14, 2021 
  • Wednesday, April 28, 2021 
  • Wednesday, May 12, 2021 
  • Wednesday, May 26, 2021 
  • Wednesday, June 9, 2021 
  • Wednesday, June 23, 2021

i Under Executive Order 7B Electronic Meetings are subject to the following: (a) The public shall have the ability to view or listen to each meeting or proceeding in real time, by telephone, video, or other technology; (b) Any such meeting or proceeding shall be recorded or transcribed, and such recording or transcript shall be posted on the Town's website within seven (7) days of the meeting or proceeding, and made available within a reasonable time in the Town Clerk’s office; (c) The required notice and agenda for each meeting or proceeding is posted on the agency's website and shall include information about how the meeting will be conducted and how the public can access it; (d) Any materials relevant to matters on the agenda, including but not limited to materials related to specific applications, if applicable, shall be submitted to the agency a minimum of twenty four (24) hours prior and posted to the agency's website for public inspection prior to, during, and after the meeting, and any exhibits to be submitted by members of the public shall, to the extent feasible, also be submitted to the agency a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours prior to the meeting and posted to the agency's website for public inspection prior to, during, and after the meeting; and, (e) All speakers taking part in any such meeting or proceeding shall clearly state their name and title, if applicable, before speaking on each occasion that they speak.