Legislative Council

Legislative Council Chambers
2372 Whitney Avenue
Hamden, CT 06518
Office: (203) 287-2577


The Legislative Council is a town-elected position which occurs every two years in the odd years cycle.  There are fifteen members on the Council in total, consisting of 1 district council member elected from each voting district for a total of nine members, and six members are elected at-large by the entire town. The electors shall vote for no more than four of the at-large candidates, and the six candidates with the highest number of votes shall be elected.

The legislative power of the town shall be voted exclusively in the Council.  Some duties include annual appropriations for the town, enact ordinances and resolutions, create or abolish boards & commissions, departments or offices as necessary, increase or decrease the budget, contract for services, and set fees on behalf of the Town of Hamden. All power and duties are included in the Hamden Charter, Section 3-5.

Hamden has a Mayor-Legislative Council form of government.  The Mayor is not a member of the Legislative Council.

The Legislative Council Committee meetings and the full Council meetings are on the first and third Monday of the month in the evening, except as noted.

Rev. 3/29/2016; 1.18

There are twelve (12) Council committees: 
  • Municipal Planning & Properties
  • Public Works & Parks
  • Public Safety & Protection
  • Environment & Conservation
  • Economic & Development
  • Finance
  • Administration
  • Education
  • Recreation & Culture
  • Human Services
  • Settlement
  • Personnel


Legislative Council and Committee Meetings meet on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month at 7:00pm at the Memorial Town Hall, 2372 Whitney Avenue, unless otherwise noted.

Hamden Government Center • 2750 Dixwell Avenue • Hamden, CT 06518 • 203.287.7000